Welcome to The Tolerance Project Archive.

Eighty-six writers, artists and thinkers have donated their poetic DNA to what could be the first collaborative MFA in Creative Writing ever, The Tolerance Project. You’ll find each donor’s DNA trace under their name here. Each piece of poetic DNA has been assigned its own barcode.

Poems written for the MFA employ traces from the donated DNA traces. You’ll see the poetic DNA barcodes under the poems posted on The Tolerance Project blog. The MFA poems are restricted to The Tolerance Project Archive for their content.

You are more than welcome to use the comments field below to give constructive feedback on the poetic DNA, write a poem riffing off the traces, drum up a rant, a few anonymous swear words, and/or try to sell us something. We especially welcome your own poetic responses, because the collaboration wants and includes you.

For queries re The Tolerance Project, please contact The Tolerance Project.



Sandra Alland

Gary Barwin

Emily Beall

Joel Bettridge

Greg Betts

Christian Bök

Jules Boykoff

Di Brandt

Laynie Browne & Jacob Davidson

Kathy Caldwell

Angela Carr

Abigail Child

George Elliott Clarke

Stephen Collis

Jen Currin

Moyra Davey

Anonymous Donor

Thom Donovan

Sarah Dowling

Marcella Durand

Kate Eichhorn

Laura Elrick

Jennifer Firestone

Rob Fitterman

Jenna Freedman

Dina Georgis

Barbara Godard

Nada Gordon

Kate Greenstreet

Rob Halpern & Nonsite Collective



Lyn Hejinian

Susan Holbrook

Catherine Hunter

Jeff T. Johnson

Reena Katz

Bill Kennedy

Kevin Killian

Rachel Levitsky

Dana Teen Lomax

Dorothy Trujillo Lusk

Jill Magi

Nicole Markotic

Dawn Lundy Martin

Steve McCaffery

Erica Meiners

Heather Milne

K. Silem Mohammad

Anna Moschovakis

Erín Moure

Akilah Oliver

Jena Osman

Bob Perelman

Tim Peterson

Vanessa Place

Kristin Prevallet

Arlo Quint

Rob Read

Evelyn Reilly

Lisa Robertson



Kit Robinson

Kim Rosenfield

Paul Russell

Trish Salah

Jenny Sampirisi

Heidi Schaefer

Susan Schultz

Jordan Scott

Evie Shockley

Jason Simon

Cheryl Sourkes

Juliana Spahr

Christine Stewart

John Stout

Catriona Strang

Chris Stroffolino

Michelle Taransky

Anne Tardos

Sharon Thesen

Lola Lemire Tostevin

Aaron Tucker

Nicolas Veroli

Fred Wah

Betsy Warland

Darren Wershler

Rita Wong

Rachel Zolf

Office of Institutional Research

Communications & External Affairs


Comment Box is loading comments...